Is it possible to pass a variable to a DataSource query when binding data to a widget?

Hello,

I’m just starting out with appsmith and am a total newbie so this could be a dumb question :slight_smile:

Anyway, I was wondering if it were possible when using a query to bind data to a widget, to pass that query a variable in order to modify the data coming back from the query to the widget.

I’ve had a bit of a look and can see that when executing a query with run() from a widget action, it is possible to pass a parameter that you can reference in the query - but am not sure if this is possible when binding data.

My use case is a query returns a list of items from a MySQL database - but the items belong to categories and I would like to use the same query to bind the data to the same list widget in my app, but based on a user choosing the category first - so basically the parameter passed to the query would end up being used in a WHERE statement in the query.

Any info / insights would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Hello, and welcome to our community!
You can run a query with parameters. Here is also a sample app that demonstrates how to do this. Please fork it to check the code.

Hi Amelia, thanks for the reply.

I’ve had a go at trying to make this work but don’t seem to be able to get there.

My original code that works is:

{{ServiceRecord_Retrive.data}}

If I replace it with this, it doesn’t work - but I’m guessing this isnt the correct way to do it?

{{ServiceRecord_Retrive.run({ catValue: 1})}}

I get the error:

Found a reference to ServiceRecord_Retrive.run() during evaluation. Sync fields cannot execute framework actions. Please remove any direct/indirect references to ServiceRecord_Retrive.run() and try again.

Here is a screen shot :slight_smile:

I will keep tinkering away, but if you can see something obvious I need to change to get this to work, feel free to let me know! :slight_smile:

Cheers,